The first stage of Ashtanga Yoga, called “Yama,” includes five types of self-control:

Ahimsa – doing no harm to oneself or others;
Satya – truthfulness to oneself and others combined with benevolence;
Asteya – non-appropriation of what does not belong to us (things, merit, time, etc.);
Brahmacharya – control of the senses, self-conditioning;
Aparigraha – non-accumulation.
These rules and of the yama are referred to in the Yoga Sutras as the Great Obet (Maha-Vratam).

It is said that observance of these principles should not be limited to:

type of incarnation,
This means that these five precepts must be followed (by the person who has chosen yoga as a method of self-development) always, everywhere and with respect to everyone, without exception.

It is a serious instruction and a binding title that demonstrates the importance of adhering to these five principles.

What you give is yours, what you leave behind is lost…

So how do we introduce adherence to aparigraha into our lives?

First, get rid of the unnecessary things we have already accumulated.

Second, do yoga. And not only asanas. It’s very important to do internal practices which help you to cleanse your mind from ignorance or wrong knowledge (avidya). Avidya is a state in which “the unknowable is seen as eternal. The impure as the pure. Suffering as pleasure. Not-Self as Self” (trans. Sir Ganganadh Jha). That is, it is not just ignorance, but ignorance of one’s true nature. It is avidya that prevents us from ultimate success in spiritual practice.

Third, use the auxiliary technique suggested by Patanjali:

When inappropriate thoughts disturb the mind, we should concentrate on that which is opposite to them (pratipaksha-bhvana)

Sutra 33, Chapter II (translated by Swenson)
For example, the sudden desire to act rudely or to encourage or accept rude actions must be tempered by an awareness of the harmful consequences. Very often such actions are the result of base instincts. Such as anger, greed, or prejudice. Regardless of our motives, awareness of such consequences can prevent such actions

Sutra 34, Chapter II (translated by Deshikachara)
Fourth, maintain mindfulness. On the importance of keeping aparigraha. On the impermanence of all these mortal things. To realize that these things don’t really belong to us. To treat them as tools given to us by the Higher Powers to achieve the right, high goals. However, we should not fall into extremes and fanaticism: a car, an apartment, a computer and a telephone – all this can be used for the benefit of the development of this world. It is important not to be attached to these benefits of civilization. It is easy to experience parting with them.

Fifth, trust the Universe, the Absolute. Everything we need, we already have. Everything we really need, we are sure to have.

Be grateful for what you have. And learn to stay in a state of contentment (santosha) as much as possible.

Good luck with your practice. Om!